Public Domain / Creative Commons Media Files

For a lot of the things we ask students to create, they will need stock images / video / music.  I try and steer them away from copyright works (even though there is limited provision for education usage) and always remind them "If you did not create it, it is not yours - ask permission!"

The following links are some that I've gathered together.  Some are completely free, others require attribution.  Make sure you check with each website for the licence.

If you know of any I've missed, please let me know.

Images:

Open Clip Art - http://openclipart.org/

The Open Clipart Library (OCAL) is the largest collaborative community that creates, shares and remixes clipart. All clipart is released to the public domain and may be used in any project for free with no restrictions.

Morgue File - http://www.morguefile.com/

Free images for your inspiration, reference and use in your creative work, be it commercial or not!

Flickr - http://www.flickr.com/search/advanced/?
Make sure you check the 'Creative Commons' section at the bottom.

Pixabay - http://pixabay.com/

Finding free quality images is a tedious task - mainly due to copyright issues, attribution requirements, or simply lack of quality. This inspired us to create Pixabay - a repository for outstanding public domain images.

You can freely use any image from this website in digital and printed format, for personal and commercial use, without attribution requirement to the original author.

Videos:

Movie Tools - http://movietools.info/ 

Welcome to your number-one source for completely free animated 2D and 3D background animations, lower thirds and more

 

Audio:

Sound Cloud - http://soundcloud.com/
Make sure you find the advanced search and enable Creative Commons

Free Sound - http://www.freesound.org/

Freesound is a collaborative database of Creative Commons Licensed sounds. Browse, download and share sounds.

New Grounds - http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/

Sam Animation - http://icreatetoeducate.com/classroom-guide/

Huge list of Audio resources - http://elearningindustry.com/subjects/free-elearning-resources/item/388-ultimate-list-free-music-elearning-online-education
A very big list, some good, some not-so-good

 

All of the above:

WikiMedia- http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/Main_Page

Wikimedia Commons is a media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips) to everyone, in their own language. 

 

Creative Commons Search - http://search.creativecommons.org/

Creative Commons is a nonprofit organization that enables the sharing and use of creativity and knowledge through free legal tools.

National Network Gallery (UK Based) - http://gallery.nen.gov.uk/